Deadline: 30th April 2024 | Transformational scholarships and short courses offered to emerging leaders for study, research and professional development in Australia.

For citizens of the following ASEAN countries: Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand.

Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Vietnam and Timor Leste citizens should follow the same application procedure as Australia Awards Scholarships 2025 Intake for your country. For further information, please visit Australia Awards Participating Countries webpage.

General Information Notes

Australia for ASEAN Scholarships are an important component of Australia’s investment in education. Australia for ASEAN Scholarships provide opportunities to study in Australia at Postgraduate level.

Fifty prestigious Australia for ASEAN Scholarships will be offered to citizens of ASEAN countries, to undertake postgraduate (Masters-level) study in Australia.

An initiative of the ASEAN-Australia Special Summit, the Australia for ASEAN Scholarship is a one-off opportunity to study in Australia in fields contributing to ASEAN’s peace, prosperity and social development, namely:

  • Maritime
  • Connectivity
  • Economic
  • Sustainable Development Cooperation

Your career will benefit from new knowledge, leadership skills and links you create in Australia and through our global alumni network.

Eligibility Part 1:

To be eligible to receive an Australia Awards Scholarship, applicants must:

  • not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection and mobilisation phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);
  • not be current serving military personnel;
  • not have previously received a long-term Australia Award in the previous four years;
  • not hold convictions of criminal activities (including in their home country) including those relating to Child Protection and PSEAH;
  • have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector);
  • be able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken (this may mean that Program Areas will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution’s admission requirements. This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at selected institutions);
  • be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. This may mean that the Program Area will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the visa requirements;
  • not be applying for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than already achieved (e.g. be applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already hold a PhD);
  • applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

Find out more and apply at the official link below:


Apply before 30th April, 2024